17 April 2017, 15:34


Ukrainian forces store chemical warfare agents in Stanitsa Luganskaya district

Ukrainian forces store chemical warfare agents in Stanitsa Luganskaya district, said LPR People's Militia spokesman Lieutenant-Colonel Andrey Marochko.

"Despite there were no cases of shelling, we receive extremely  disturbing  reports saying Ukrainian  forces store CWAs on the territory currently under their control."

"First of all, arms depots are located in populated areas or on their outskirts in violation of all safety requirements. For instance, in the area of responsibility of the 14th brigade (Ukrainian armed forces), at rocket and artillery warehouses, in Novoaidar, Akekseyevka, Shirokiy, arms are stored at farm buildings. These premises and the adjoining territories do not meet safety requirements and could be dangerous and new civilian casualties."

"In Chervonyi Zhovten area a nuclear, chemical and biological protection depot is located, of the same 14th brigade; flamethrowers and poisonous substances are stored there."

The members of the Contact Group have announced ceasefire for more than ten times since autumn 2014. Kiev forces regularly violated the truce opening fire with large calibre artillery, mortars and tank guns which were to have been withdrawn in accordance with the Minsk agreements.

The Package of Measures for the Implementation of the Minsk Agreements was adopted by the Contact Group on Ukraine on 12 February 2015 and supported by member states of the Normandy Four (Germany, Russia, Ukraine and France). The UN Security Council approved the document by its 2202 Resolution and called upon all the sides to ensure full implementation of the Package of Measures.

The document provides for comprehensive ceasefire, withdrawal of all heavy weapons from the contact line, starting a dialog on reconstruction of social and economic ties between Kiev and Donbass. It also envisages carrying out constitutional reform in Ukraine providing for decentralization and adopting permanent legislation on a special status of certain areas of the Donetsk and Lugansk regions.

LuganskMediaCentre — 17 April — Lugansk