19 August 2017, 15:28



Seven SMM members will be permanently present at the forward base in Stanitsa Luganskaya

Seven OSCE SMM members will be permanently present at the forward patrol base in Stanitsa Luganskaya re-launched today, said Principal Deputy Chief Monitor of the OSCE SMM Alexander Hug.

"Initially, five monitors and two additional staff members will be present the base," he said.

The OSCE SMM has resumed 24/7 operation of a forward monitoring base in Stanitsa Luganskaya, where Kiev has disrupted over 70 attempts to disengage forces and hardware.

The OSCE SMM opened a patrol base in Stanitsa Luganskaya on 16 January 2016, but closed it in March for security reasons. Other bases operate in Stakhanov, Debaltsevo, Gorlovka and a number of other locations.

LPR and DPR representatives at a meeting in Minsk on September, 21 initialed a framework agreement on pullback of forces in Donbass, that was also signed by representatives of Ukraine, Russia and OSCE. The document provides for three disengagement areas around Zolotoye, Stanitsa Lugaskaya and Petrovskoe (DPR territory). Heads of LPR and DPR Igor Plotnitskiy and Alexander Zakharchenko signed the agreement on September 22 and 23, respectively.

The disengagement has been carried out in Zolotoye and Petrovskoe. All previous attempts to disengage in Stanitsa Lugansksya area, and there were over 40 of them, were disrupted by the Ukrainian side.

The Package of Measures for the Implementation of the Minsk Agreements was adopted by the Contact Group on Ukraine on February 12, 2015 and supported by member states of the Normandy Four (Germany, Russia, Ukraine and France). The UN Security Council approved the document by its 2202 Resolution and called upon all the sides to ensure full implementation of the Package of Measures.

The document provides for comprehensive ceasefire, withdrawal of all heavy weapons from the contact line, starting a dialog on reconstruction of social and economic ties between Kiev and adopting permanent legislation on a special status of certain areas of the Donetsk and Lugansk regions.

LuganskMediaCentre — 19 August — Lugansk