7 March 2019, 20:09



Security subgroup agrees “spring ceasefire” starting March 8 - Deinego

Read in Russian

LUGANSK, March 7 (Lugansk Media Centre) - The Contact Group security subgroup participants at the video conference on Thursday negotiated the “spring ceasefire” effective from March 8, Lugansk People’s Republic envoy to the Minsk talks, LPR Foreign Minister Vladislav Deinego told the Lugansk Media Centre.

“The working group on security of the Minsk Contact Group has finished the video conference. The dialogue was very difficult and lasted nearly seven hours,” Deinego said.  “The parties to the conflict negotiated the date and time of complete and stable ceasefire commitment: March 8, 2019, 01:01, Moscow time.”

“The OSCE and Russian representatives in the working group welcomed the decision,” the LPR diplomat said.

“We are grateful to Mr (Contact Group security subgroup coordinator for OSCE Ertugrul) Apakan and Mr (Special Representative of the OSCE Chairperson-in-Office in Ukraine Martin) Sajdik for active contribution to securing Ukraine’s consent to the “spring ceasefire. It’s a great present to Donbass women,” he said.

At the security subgroup meeting in Minsk on February 27, LPR representative Roman Ivanov said that the “New Year ceasefire” agreed by the Contact Group participants, had spent itself due to continuing violations by Kiev and called for a new truce dubbed the “spring ceasefire.” He said that the Donbass Republics suggested introducing this ceasefire while taking into account the additional measures to which the parties had no objections.

The members of the Contact Group have announced ceasefire more than 20 times since the autumn of 2014. Kiev forces regularly violated the truce opening fire with large calibre artillery, mortars and tank guns which were to have been withdrawn in accordance with the Minsk agreements.

The Package of Measures for the Implementation of the Minsk Agreements was adopted by the Contact Group on Ukraine on February 12, 2015 and supported by member states of the Normandy Four (Germany, Russia, Ukraine and France). The UN Security Council approved the document by Resolution 2202 and called upon all the sides to ensure full implementation of the Package of Measures.

The document provides for comprehensive ceasefire, withdrawal of all heavy weapons from the contact line, starting a dialog on reconstruction of social and economic ties between Kiev and Donbass. It also envisages carrying out constitutional reform in Ukraine providing for decentralization and adopting permanent legislation on a special status of certain areas of the Donetsk and Lugansk regions.

To facilitate the work of the Contact Group, four working groups were set up under its aegis to deal with issues of security, politics, return of internally displaced people and refuges, as well as with social, humanitarian, economic and rehabilitation issues.

LuganskMediaCentre — 07 March — Lugansk