3 October 2016, 17:46


Primaries-2016: Lugansk current mayor Manolis Pilavov won the sweeping majority

Lugansk current mayor Manolis Pilavov won the sweeping majority in mayoral primary, receiving 86.1 percent of votes, the Interim Vote Commission announced.

The runner-up is Vyacheslav Svetlov with 5.3 percent of the ballots cast, followed by Alexander Ermolenko (4.1 percent), Yuriy Ryaplov (2.2 percent) and Anatoliy Kolyadintsev (2.2 percent).

Elena Logacheva emerged as the winner of primary for the post of Yubileiniy settlement administration head, gaining 57.5 percent of voters support. The second popular candidate is Alexander Kurochkin (29.7 percent), followed by Nikolay Sudavtsov with 12.8 percent.

The leader in the primary for Aleksandrovsk administration head is Sergey Popov (54.6 percent), 16.7 percent of voters supported Nadezhda Tkachenko, the third result belongs to Nikolay Streltsov (14.6 percent) followed by Vasiliy Lobov with 14 percent.

As all the winners got over 50 percent of voters, no run-off will be held.


The preliminary public voting was held in LPR on October, 2nd. The turnout in the first LPR primaries was more than 61 thousand voters who cast their ballots for 234 candidates at a total of 80 polling stations in 54 wards in Lugansk, Aleksandrovsk and Yubileiniy. The residents were choosing candidates to local authorities positions, with 720 volunteers facilitating the work of polling stations commissions.

No violations or incidents concerning voting procedures or public order were reported.

LPR Head Igor Plotnitskiy on the voting day urged people to actively participate in the primaries to determine opinion leaders. He cast his vote, saying he was choosing peace and future.

Plotnitskiy announced on July, 4th, the preliminary public voting (primaries) for the candidates to local authorities positions. Earlier he declared that the Republic would hold local elections if Kiev, even pressured by the West, refused to fulfill the political part of the Minsk agreements, which stipulates local elections in Donbass.

"Today our society shows an explicit intention to hold local elections. We can not wait forever for Kiev to hear the demands of our people. I have decided to support this initiative that will give us an opportunity to test candidates and see the public opinion," Plotnitskiy then said.

He guaranteed transparent and fair procedures fully compliant with democratic, moral principles and OSCE standards to all the participants.

"Ukraine election law does not permit self-nomination for party members, while in the Republic it is possible to nominate oneself, it is not prohibited. Time will show whom our people choose. But we shall never welcome those political forces that supported "anti-terrorst operation" (ATO) directly or indirectly, or by omission or powerlessness," LPR head stated.

The representatives of LPR major civil movements, Mir Luganshchine (Peace to Lugansk) and Lugansk Economic Union, declared full support to the voting.

The public assemblies were held in 14 LPR towns, each to elect 7 delegates to the General meeting. The General meeting on July, 24th appointed 15 members to the Interim Vote Commission (IVC) that defines voting districts, members of local territorial and district commissions, work out candidate nomination procedure, etc. LPR's justice minister Sergey Kozjakov was elected to head the IVC. The vote steering committee on July, 26th decided to hold the primaries in Lugansk, town of Aleksandrovsk and Yubileyniy settlement on October, 2nd.

IVC registered 234 candidates for the primaries, the campaigning finished on 30 September. All candidates were guaranteed free access to mass media. Some entities and persons, for instance public authorities, military units, charities, foreigners and foreign legal entities were not allowed to campaign. The Commission imposed some limitations as well: Nazi symbols, race discrimination, inciting violence, etc. were banned.

LuganskMediaCentre — 03 October — Lugansk