20 July 2019, 10:56



LPR People’s Militia issues order to implement ceasefire on July 21

Read in Russian

LUGANSK, July 20 (Lugansk Media Centre) – LPR People’s Militia has issued order to observe ceasefire that is to come into force on July 21, said LPR People’s Militia command acting chief of staff Colonel Mikhail Filiponenko.

“Following the agreements on the introduction of indefinite ceasefire from July 21, 0.01 a.m. the LPR People’s Militia HQ has issued an appropriate order that has been brought to the attention of every unit and troop in due course,” he said.

The order includes all additional measures to reinforce ceasefire as agreed by the Contact Group and as the Republics insisted, such as the ban on sniper ceasefire, offensive operations, reconnaissance missions.

The Spring ceasefire, 23rd in the series of ceasefire recommitments, was agreed to by the security subgroup of the Contact Group and came in effect in Donbass on March 8, 2019 1:01 a.m. (GMT+3).

The Package of Measures for the Implementation of the Minsk Agreements was adopted by the Contact Group on Ukraine on February 12, 2015 and supported by member states of the Normandy Four (Germany, Russia, Ukraine and France). The UN Security Council approved the document by Resolution 2202 and called upon all the sides to ensure full implementation of the Package of Measures.

The document provides for comprehensive ceasefire, withdrawal of all heavy weapons from the contact line, starting a dialog on reconstruction of social and economic ties between Kiev and Donbass. It also envisages carrying out constitutional reform in Ukraine providing for decentralization and adopting permanent legislation on a special status of certain areas of the Donetsk and Lugansk regions.

To facilitate the work of the Contact Group, four working groups were set up under its aegis to deal with issues of security, politics, return of internally displaced people and refuges, as well as with social, humanitarian, economic and rehabilitation issues.

LuganskMediaCentre — 20 July — Lugansk