27 June 2018, 19:01



LPR committed to Harvest Ceasefire in effect from July 1 - People's Militia

LUGANSK, June 27 (Lugansk Media Centre) – The LPR People's Militia is ready to observe the Harvest Ceasefire to be reintroduced from 1 July 2018 at 00 h 01 mn, Kyiv time, said LPR People's Militia spokesman Lieutenant-Colonel Andrey Marochko.

The members of the Contact Group held another round of talks today in Minsk; the statement released after the meeting says that the participants "re-affirm their full commitment to a comprehensive, sustainable and unlimited ceasefire, starting from 1 July 2018 at 00 h 01 mn, Kyiv time; and re-assert their joint and firm commitment to the full implementation of the Minsk agreements".

"The LPR People's Militia has been proving for a long time not only in word, but in deed, that it is committed to the peaceful settlement of the conflict, while the adherence to the ceasefire is integral part of the peaceful resolution."

The members of the Contact Group have announced ceasefire for more than twenty times since autumn 2014. Kiev forces regularly violate the truce opening fire with heavy artillery, mortars and tank guns, which should have been withdrawn in accordance with the Minsk Agreements.

The Package of Measures for the Implementation of the Minsk Agreements was adopted by the Contact Group on Ukraine on 12 February 2015 and supported by member states of the Normandy Four (Germany, Russia, Ukraine and France). The UN Security Council approved the document by its 2202 Resolution and called upon all the sides to ensure full implementation of the Package of Measures.

The document provides for comprehensive ceasefire, withdrawal of all heavy weapons from the contact line, starting a dialog on reconstruction of social and economic ties between Kiev and Donbass. It also envisages carrying out constitutional reform in Ukraine providing for decentralization and adopting permanent legislation on a special status of certain areas of the Donetsk and Lugansk regions.

LuganskMediaCentre — 27 June — Lugansk