25 October 2018, 11:43


LPR Central Election Commission sets up 316 electoral districts for November 11 elections

Read in Russian

LUGANSK, October 25 (Lugansk Media Centre) - The Lugansk People’s Republic Central Election Commission has set up 316 electoral districts for the November 11 Head of the Republic and parliamentary elections.

“To hold the scheduled elections of Head and the parliament on November 11, the CEC set up 316 electoral districts across the Republic and defined their borders,” CEC chairwoman Yelena Kravchenko said.

On September 7, LPR lawmakers passed the resolution setting November 11, 2018 as the date for parliamentary and Head elections. On September 6, acting LPR Head Leonid Pasechnik signed the parliament-approved bills amending the LPR Provisional Basic Law (Constitution) and certain election laws which extended the term of office for the Head of the Republic and parliamentarians from four to five years starting from the next election.

After verification of the documents and support lists, the CEC registered four candidates for the country’s top post, as well as the parliament candidate lists of the social movements Mir Luganschine and Lugansk Economic Union (LES).

LuganskMediaCentre — 25 October — Lugansk