22 June 2018, 08:25


LIVE COVERAGE: UPT to pass sentence in Poroshenko's regime war crimes case

Lugansk Media Center is providing live text coverage of the Ukrainian People’s Tribunal for Poroshenko’s regime war crimes against Ukrainian citizens (UPT) sentence announcement taking place at the Lugansk central square.

9:56 - The sentence announement hearing is closed.

9:55 - The sentence is to be filed with the ICC, Special Adviser to the Secretary-General on the Prevention of Genocide and other Intl Human Rights Organizations.

9:46 - The total sentence is made by merging the less severe penalties into more severe, and constitutes LIFE IN PRISON WITH THE FORFEITURE OF PROPERTY, to run from the moment the sentenced are arrested for all the eight persons charged.

9:36 - The UPT chairwoman Elena Shishkina, judges Lyubov Batyashova and Tatyana Kravchenko are invited to the stage. The UPT is beginning to read the sentence.

9:31 - Residents of Pervomaisk and Schastye tell of the crimes they have seen and suffered. Residents of frontline Donetskiy, Golubovskoye, Novosvetlovka, Veselaya Gora, Stakhanov testify about crimes committed by Ukrainian forces in Donbass.

9:26 - Svetlana Gizai, widow of Alexander Gizai killed by the Ukrainian air strike on Lugansk on June 2, 2014, is speaking.

9:19 - Residents of Donbass cities are speaking about the atrocities of war they have witnessed.

9:17 - The LPR Acting Head Leonid Pasechnik has joined the UPT sentence announcement.

9:14 - The UPT prosecutor Sergey Kozhemyakin is speaking at the stage.

9:05 - The names of Ukrainian high-rank officials charged by the UPT in connection with the war crimes are being announced, their words about Donbass are being displayed on the screen:

Secretary of the national security and defense council of Ukraine Aleksandr Turchynov

Chairman of the Verkhovnaya Rada Andrey Parubiy

Prime minister Vladimir Groisman

Ex-prime-minster Arseniy Yatsenyuk

Minister of internal affairs Arsen Avakov

Defense minister Stepan Poltorak

Ukraine’s president Petr Poroshenko

Commander-in-chief of the armed forces of Ukraine Viktor Muzhenko.

9:03 - A minute of silence is observed to commemorate the victims of the war.

9:02 - The host of the event has come to stage and is heard saying: "In February 2014 those Nazi killed a hundred of people at the Maidan square and made Ukraine shudder."

"Donbass decided to take a peaceful, legal way and to hold a Referendum."

"We could not imagine being killed for our beliefs under the supervision of the USA and EU."

"Today we are holding an All-Nation's Gathering, today, June 22, 77 years ago a great war came to our land to last four years and claim millions of lives."

"We have won over the Nazi, we shall win this war as well."

8:56 – The temperature has risen to 27 degrees in Celsius in the city center, people are being treated to water for free.

8:46 - The organizers are asking people to come closer to the stage installed in front of the Lugansk Russian Academic Drama Theater as the event is about to begin.

8:39 - Patriotic songs are playing at the square. Approximately five thousand people have already gathered.

 8:25 - People are gathering at the Teatralnaya Square as the UPT is to pass sentence in case against Poroshenko’s regime war crimes committed in Donbass.



The Initiative Group of Ukrainian citizens living in Donetsk and Lugansk established the Ukrainian People’s Tribunal to investigate the Poroshenko's regime war crimes in Donbass on March 15, 2018. The Tribunal began its work on March 20. The Tribunal has reviewed over a thousand of case files in accordance with the Ukrainian law with due respect to international standards.

Lawyers Elena Shishkina,  Lyubov Batyashova and Tatyana Kravchenko are the presiding judges, Sergey Kozhemyakin is the prosecutor and Elena Gridinais the defense lawyer.

The UPT has tried the crimes of high-rank Ukrainian officials and charged eight people:

Ukraine’s president Petr Poroshenko

Minister of internal affairs Arsen Avakov

Secretary of the national security and defense council of Ukraine Aleksandr Turchynov

Prime minister Vladimir Groisman

Commander-in-chief of the armed forces of Ukraine Viktor Muzhenko

Defense minister Stepan Poltorak

Chairman of the Verkhovnaya Rada Andrey Parubiy

Ex-prime-minster Arseniy Yatsenyuk.

LuganskMediaCentre — 22 June — Lugansk