5 September 2018, 14:35


Kiev representatives in humanitarian subgroup observe one minute silence in memory of DPR Head - Kobtseva

LUGANSK, September 5 (Lugansk Media Centre) - Kiev representatives in the Contact Group humanitarian subgroup supported the proposal of their Donbass Republics colleagues to observe a minute of silence in memory of DPR Head Alexander Zakharchenko, Lugansk People’s Republic representative in the humanitarian subgroup, head of the LPR working group on prisoner exchange Olga Kobtseva told the Lugansk Media Centre.
DPR Head, Chairman of the Council of Ministers and DPR armed forces supreme commander-in-chief Alexander Zakharchenko died in a terrorist attack in central Donetsk on August 31.
“The meeting of the working group on humanitarian issues began with a minute of silence in memory of Alexander Zakharchenko. The Ukrainian representative supported us while indicating that one-minute silence they were joining honoured the memory of Zakharchenko and all those who died in the Donbass conflict,” Kobtseva said.
Alexander Vladimirovich Zakharchenko was born in Donetsk on June 26, 1976. He graduated from the Donetsk College of Industrial Automatics and worked at a mine. He supported the Donbass independence movement as new authorities came to power in Ukraine after the 2014 coup-d'etat in Kiev. On April 16, 2014, Zakharchenko led a group of activists to take the building of the Donetsk city administration. Later on, he commanded a DPR militia unit.
In August 2014, the DPR Supreme Council appointed Zakharchenko Chairman of the Republic’s Council of Ministers. On November 2, 2014, he was elected head of the Republic winning more than 75 percent of votes. In February 2015, the first Congress of the Donetsk Republic social movement unanimously elected Zakharchenko its chairman.
He held the military rank of Major-General and was wounded several times during the fight against Kiev aggression.  A Hero of the DPR, he held several top DPR decorations.
The Package of Measures for the Implementation of the Minsk Agreements was adopted by the Contact Group on Ukraine on February 12, 2015 and supported by member states of the Normandy Four (Germany, Russia, Ukraine and France). The UN Security Council approved the document by its 2202 Resolution and called upon all the sides to ensure full implementation of the Package of Measures.
The document provides for comprehensive ceasefire, withdrawal of all heavy weapons from the contact line, starting a dialog on reconstruction of social and economic ties between Kiev and Donbass. It also envisages carrying out constitutional reform in Ukraine providing for decentralization and adopting permanent legislation on a special status of certain areas of the Donetsk and Lugansk regions.
To facilitate the work of the Contact Group, four working groups were set up under its aegis to deal with issues of security, politics, return of internally displaced people and refuges, as well as with social, humanitarian, economic and rehabilitation issues.

LuganskMediaCentre — 05 September — Lugansk