3 October 2018, 20:41


Four candidates to run for LPR head election - Central Election Commission

Read in Russian

LUGANSK, October 3 (Lugansk Media Centre) – The LPR Central Election Commission has registered four candidates for the upcoming LPR Head election.

The commission adopted the decision to approve the candidates upon the checking of submitted documents. Leonid Pasechnik, Oleg Koval, Lyudmila Rusnak and Natalia Sergun have been registered.

The number of signatures collected in support of each candidate and accepted by the Commission is as follows:

Leonid Pasechnik: 1,540 /1,496

Oleg Koval: 1,380 / 1,153

Lyudmila Rusnak: 1,260 / 1,057

Natalia Sergun: 1,268 / 1,068

The commission, earlier on Wednesday, adopted the decision to approve the republican list of candidates from the Mir Luganschine movement upon the checking of submitted documents, including 1,500 signatures in support of the list, 1,269 of those were accepted.

On September 7, LPR lawmakers passed the resolution setting November 11, 2018 as the date for parliamentary and head of the Republic elections. On September 6, acting LPR Head Leonid Pasechnik signed the parliament-approved bills amending the LPR Provisional Basic Law (Constitution) and certain election law which extended the term of office for the Head of the Republic and parliamentarians from four to five years starting from the next election.

The Mir Luganschine social movement held its fifth Congress on September 20. It reviewed the candidate list for the parliamentary election asking acting LPR Head Leonid Pasechnik to lead it to which he acceded with unanimous support. The Mir Luganschine Executive Committee chairman named 84 parliamentary candidates.

The Lugansk Economic Union (LES) social movement approved its election programme and candidate list at the Congress in Lugansk on September 21.

LuganskMediaCentre — 03 October — Lugansk