17 April 2019, 13:47


Election to Youth Parliament begins in LPR (PHOTOS)

Read in Russian

LUGANSK, April 17 (Lugansk Media Centre) – The elections to the LPR Youth Parliament have kicked off today at the polling station No. 4 in the Lugansk National University, Lugansk Media Center correspondent reports.

Fifteen names are included in the candidate list.

The LPR People's Council chairman Denis Miroshnichenko visited the polling station and said that the election is "a unique chance and product of the Republic designed for several years. Two election campaigns have already been organized in the LPR and as practice shows we're not going to stop".

The election started at 9 a.m. without any delays.

"The turnout exceeded 250 voters during the first hours," said the chairman of the polling station Nikita Zharskiy.

The feedback from observers from Russian and the DPR was positive, he said.

The Lugansk People’s Republic Temporary Youth Election Commission (VMIK) registered 360 candidates for the LPR Youth Parliament,

The list of the registered candidates is available on the Youth Parliament official website.

On March 5, the LPR People’s Council (parliament) adopted a resolution on the LPR Youth Parliament. The Youth Parliament Organising Committee approved the Temporary Youth Election Commission which later formed 21 district commissions.

On March 26, Mashkova said that the Commission had registered 260 Youth Parliament candidates.

Application deadline was March 30. University students and employed youths aged 18 to 35 were eligible to run for youth parliament.

LPR Head Leonid Pasechnik said that the Youth Parliament would give an opportunity to young people do be directly involved in building the Republic’s statehood.

LuganskMediaCentre — 17 April — Lugansk