28 September 2018, 10:23


Election Commission received signature from four candidates to run in LPR Head election

LUGANSK, September 28 (Lugansk Media Centre) - The Lugansk People’s Republic Central Election Commission has received signature lists from four of the eight candidates for the Republic’s top post, CEC chairwoman Yelena Kravchenko said at a press briefing at the Lugansk Media Centre.

“The Central Election Commission has finished accepting signature lists in support of the candidates for the post of LPR Head and the candidates’ documents to register for the upcoming election on November 11,” Kravchenko said.

She noted that only four candidates had submitted signature lists. Earlier, they notified the CEC about their plans to run for Head of the Republic.

The candidates are Leonid Pasechnik, Natalia Sergun, Oleg Koval and Lyudmila Rusnak,” Kravchenko said.

“The CEC is currently verifying the signature lists,” she added.

The other four candidates - Leonid, Derzhak, Roman Oleksin, Vladimir Rodionov and Yuri Ryaplov - have dropped out of the election race. The CEC chairwoman said that she had no information on why the candidates had failed to meet the deadline.

On September 28, the CEC will finish accepting signature lists in support of parliamentary candidates from the social movements Mir Luganschine and Lugansk Economic Union.

On September 7, LPR lawmakers passed the resolution setting November 11, 2018 as the date for parliamentary and head of the Republic elections.

On September 6, acting LPR Head Leonid Pasechnik signed the parliament- approved bills amending the LPR Provisional Basic Law (Constitution) and certain election law which extended the term of office for the Head of the Republic and parliamentarians from four to five years starting from the next election.

The Mir Luganschine social movement held its fifth Congress on September 20. It reviewed the candidate list for the parliamentary election asking acting LPR Head Leonid Pasechnik to lead it to which he acceded with unanimous support.

LuganskMediaCentre — 28 September — Lugansk